School of Humanities and Sciences

Showing 11-14 of 14 Results

  • Gary Cox

    Gary Cox

    William Bennett Munro Professor in Political Science

    BioGary W. Cox, Professor of Political Science. In addition to numerous articles in the areas of legislative and electoral politics, Cox is author of The Efficient Secret (winner of the 1983 Samuel H. Beer dissertation prize and the 2003 George H. Hallett Award), co-author of Legislative Leviathan (winner of the 1993 Richard F. Fenno Prize), author of Making Votes Count (winner of the 1998 Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award, the 1998 Luebbert Prize and the 2007 George H. Hallett Award); and co-author of Setting the Agenda (winner of the 2006 Leon D. Epstein Book Award). A former Guggenheim Fellow, Cox was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1996 and the National Academy of Sciences in 2005. Ph.D. California Institute of Technology, 1983

  • Brian Coyne

    Brian Coyne


    BioBrian Coyne is a Teaching Fellow in Thinking Matters. He has also taught at San Francisco State University's Osher Lifelong Learning Center and San Francisco College Track. Originally from New Jersey, he received his B.A. in Government from Harvard in 2007 and his Ph.D. in Political Science from Stanford in 2014. His dissertation, "Non-state Power and Non-state Legitimacy" explores how liberal theories of justice should evaluate the power of non-state actors like NGOs, corporations, and international institutions. Brian's other research interests include political representation, the debate about responses to climate change, and the politics of urban space and planning. He also writes about bicycling for the San Francisco Chronicle and enjoys exploring the Bay Area and California by bicycle.