School of Engineering

Showing 1-10 of 25 Results

  • Emmanuel Candes

    Emmanuel Candes

    Barnum-Simons Chair in Math and Statistics, and Professor of Statistics and, by courtesy, of Electrical Engineering

    BioEmmanuel Candès is the Barnum-Simons Chair in Mathematics and Statistics, a professor of electrical engineering (by courtesy) and a member of the Institute of Computational and Mathematical Engineering at Stanford University. Earlier, Candès was the Ronald and Maxine Linde Professor of Applied and Computational Mathematics at the California Institute of Technology. His research interests are in computational harmonic analysis, statistics, information theory, signal processing and mathematical optimization with applications to the imaging sciences, scientific computing and inverse problems. He received his Ph.D. in statistics from Stanford University in 1998.

    Candès has received several awards including the Alan T. Waterman Award from NSF, which is the highest honor bestowed by the National Science Foundation, and which recognizes the achievements of early-career scientists. He has given over 60 plenary lectures at major international conferences, not only in mathematics and statistics but in many other areas as well including biomedical imaging and solid-state physics. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences and to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2014.

  • Chan-Byoung Chae

    Chan-Byoung Chae

    Visiting Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering

    BioChan-Byoung Chae is the Underwood Distinguished Professor in the School of Integrated Technology, College of Engineering, Yonsei University, Korea. He was a Member of Technical Staff (Research Scientist) at Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent, Murray Hill, NJ, USA from June 2009 to Feb 2011. Before joining Bell Laboratories, he was with the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA as a Post-Doctoral Research Fellow under the supervision of Vahid Tarokh. He received the Ph.D. degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from The University of Texas (UT), Austin, TX, USA in 2008 under the supervision of Robert W. Heath, Jr., where he was a member of the Wireless Networking and Communications Group (WNCG). Prior to joining UT, he was a Research Engineer at the Advanced Research Lab., the Telecommunications R&D Center, Samsung Electronics, Suwon, Korea, from 2001 to 2005. He was a Visiting Scholar at the WING Lab, Aalborg University, Denmark in 2004 and at University of Minnesota, MN, USA in August 2007 to work with Nihar Jindal. While at Samsung, he participated in the IEEE 802.16e and 3GPP standardization, where he made several contributions and filed a number of related patents. His current research interests include wireless mobile networks and nano (molecular) communications. He has served/serves as an Editor for the IEEE Communications Magazine (2016-present), IEEE Trans. on Wireless Communications (2012~present), IEEE Trans. on Molecular, Biological, and Multi-scale Comm. (2015-present), IEEE Wireless Communications Letters (2016-present), IEEE Trans. on Smart Grid (2010-2011), IEEE ComSoc Technology News (2014), and IEEE/KICS Jour. of Comm. Networks (2012-present). He was a Guest Editor for the IEEE Jour. Sel. Areas in Comm. (special issue on molecular, biological, and multi-scale comm.) 2014-2015. He is an IEEE Senior Member.
    Dr. Chae was the recipient/co-recipient of the Underwood Distinguished Professor Award from Yonsei University (2016), the Yonam Research Award from LG Yonam Foundation (2016), the Outstanding Professor Award from IITP (2016), the Best Young Professor Award from the College of Engineering, Yonsei University (2015), the IEEE INFOCOM Best Demo Award (2015), the IEIE/IEEE Joint Award for Young IT Engineer of the Year (2014), the KICS Haedong Young Scholar Award (2013), the IEEE Signal Processing Magazine Best Paper Award (2013), the IEEE ComSoc AP Outstanding Young Researcher Award (2012), the IEEE VTS Dan. E. Noble Fellowship Award (2008), two Gold Prizes (1st) in the 14th/19th Humantech Paper Contest, and the KSEA-KUSCO scholarship (2007). He also received the Korea Government Fellowship (KOSEF) during his Ph.D. studies.