Aharon Kapitulnik is the Theodore and Sydney Rosenberg Professor in Applied Physics at the Departments of Applied Physics and Physics at Stanford University. His research focuses on experimental condensed matter physics, while opportunistically, also apply his methods to tabletop experimental studies of fundamental phenomena in physics. His recent studies cover a broad spectrum of phenomena associated with the behavior of correlated and disordered electron systems, particularly in reduced dimensions, and the development of effective instrumentation to detect subtle signatures of physical phenomena.

Among other recognitions, his activities earned him the Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship (1986-90), a Presidential Young Investigator Award (1987-92), a Sackler Scholar at Tel-Aviv University (2006), the Heike Kamerlingh Onnes Prize for Superconductivity Experiment (2009), a RTRA (Le Triangle de la Physique) Senior Chair (2010), and the Oliver Buckley Condensed Matter Prize of the American Physical Society (2015). Aharon Kapitulnik is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and a member of the National Academy of Sciences. Kapitulnik holds a Ph.D. in Physics from Tel-Aviv University (1983).

Academic Appointments

Administrative Appointments

  • Chair, Department of Applied Physics, Stanford University (2005 - 2010)
  • Deputy Director, Laboratory for Advanced materials, Stanford University (2000 - 2002)
  • Visiting Professor, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel (2000 - 2001)
  • Director, center for Materials Research, Stanford University (1999 - 2000)
  • Chair, Department of Applied Physics, Stanford University (1996 - 1999)
  • Professor of Applied Physics and Physics, Stanford University (1994 - Present)
  • Visiting Professor, Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris, and U. of Paris XI, Orsay (1992 - 1992)
  • Associate Professor of Applied Physics and Physics, Stanford University (1990 - 1994)
  • Assistant Professor of Applied Physics, Stanford University (1985 - 1990)
  • Assistant Professor in Residence, UC Santa Barbara (1985 - 1985)
  • Associate Member, Institute for Theoretical Physics, UC Santa Barbara (1983 - 1984)
  • Weizmann postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Physics, UC Santa Barbara (1983 - 1984)

Honors & Awards

  • Elected member, National Academy of Science (2015)
  • The 2015 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize., American Physical Society (2015)
  • EPIQS Experimental Investigator Award, Moore Foundation (2014)
  • The Yuval Ne'eman Memorial Lecture, Tel Aviv University, Israel (2014)
  • Einstein Colloquium, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel (2012)
  • Senior Chair, Le Triangle de la Physique, (Polytechnique-Orsay-Saclay), France (2011-2014)
  • Alexander von Humboldt Research Award, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany (2011)
  • Elected Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2009)
  • Heike Kamerlingh Onnes Prize for Outstanding Superconductivity Experiments, International Award (2009)
  • Colloquium Pierre et Marie CURIE, Paris, France (2007)
  • Sackler Professor by Special Appointment, School of Physics and astronomy, Tel-Aviv University, Israel (2006-2015)
  • Niels-Bohr lecture, The Niels Bohr Institute, Copenhagen, Denmark (2000)
  • Distinguished Lecturer in Materials Physics, Penn State University (1994)
  • Elected Fellow, American Physical Society (1994)
  • Presidential Young Investigator Award, National Science Foundation (1987-1992)
  • Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation (1986-1990)

Boards, Advisory Committees, Professional Organizations

  • Member of Scientific Advisory Board, Conductus Inc., Sunnyvale, CA (1987 - 1996)
  • Member of Executive Committee, DCMP, American Physical Society (2008 - 2011)
  • Member, Governing Body of the Raymond and Beverly Sackler Institute of Solid State Physics., Tel-Aviv University, Israel. (2007 - Present)
  • Member, National Academy of Sciences' Committee on Condensed Matter and Materials Research (CCMR) (2017 - Present)

Professional Education

  • Ph.D, Tel Aviv University, Israel, Physics (1984)
  • B.Sc, Tel Aviv University, Israel, Physics (1978)

2020-21 Courses

Stanford Advisees

  • Doctoral Dissertation Reader (AC)
    Ilan Rosen, Yue YU
  • Doctoral Dissertation Advisor (AC)
    Erik Kountz, Sam Mumford, Tiffany Paul, Xinyang Zhang
  • Doctoral (Program)
    Varun Harbola, Stephen Kuenstner, Yingfei Li, Beicheng Lou, Benjamin Malia, Ognjen Markovic, Stefania Moroianu, Mansheej Paul, Praveen Sriram, Fenghao Xu